Ace Shuttler

Saina Nehwal
Saina Nehwal

She surged into the global scene when she became the first woman to win a 4-star tournament in Philippines Open.

A former World No.1 in badminton player and currently ranked World No. 8.

She played 485 singles matches out of which she has won 346.


Saina Nehwal, the second daughter of Harvir Singh and Usha Rani, was born on 17 March 1990 in a Hindu Jat family in Hisar. Her father, a scientist and her mother, were both former badminton champions in Haryana.

She completed her first few years of schooling at Campus School CCS HAU, Hisar. The family later shifted to Hyderabad. Nehwal also has a brown belt in Karate. Saina did her 12th from St. Ann’s College Mehdipatnam Hyderabad.


She started her badminton training under the guidance of Coach Arif, who was a Dronacharya Awardee. She currently trains under National Coach and former All England Badminton Champion and Dronacharya Awardee P. Gopichand at his academy in Hyderabad.

In 2006, Saina surged into spotlight when she became the first Indian woman to win a 4-star tournament, the Philippines Open. Entering the tournament as the 86th seed, Saina went on to stun several top seeded players on route to the title. The same year also saw Saina finish as runner-up at the 2006 BWF World Junior Championships. She did one better thing in 2008 by becoming the first Indian to win the World Junior Badminton Championships.

Saina’s performance ranks as on par with that of Indian badminton legend Prakash Padukone and her mentor Pullela Gopichand who both won the All England Championship which is of similar status to a Super Series event. Saina’s supreme fitness and mental strength are her key assets. Olympic Gold Quest is proud to support the endeavours of Saina in her quest for an Olympic Gold medal.


She had been endorsed by Yonex in 2002, then BPCL in 2004, supported by Olympic Gold Quest.
Currently she is the brand ambassador for Sahara India Parivar.
Saina endorses Herbalife , Top Ramen Noodles , Fortune Cooking Oil , NECC , Vaseline , Sahara , Indian Overseas Bank and Yonex.


  • Most Promising Player of the Year (2008) award by Badminton World Federation
  • Arjuna Award (2009)
  • Padma Shree (2010)
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (2009–2010)
  • Padma Bhushan (2016)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here